BRAND NEW!  Live Webinars


Since 2012 we have provided on-demand, self-paced, online courses in building codes.  With the recent increase in remote working and learning, we realize that traditional webinars may be more familiar to those new to online education.


Webinar descriptions, schedules, and recordings are available on this page, but also try one of our on-demand courses.  Use coupon code “welcome” and take any one of our on-demand courses for free.  Use the navigation in the menu above.

Minimum Code for Budget Decks

Minimum Code for Budget Decks


CLICK HERE FOR WEBINAR DETAILS

Description: The International Residential Code is the “minimum” standard of construction.  A better understanding of this minimum allows for “above code” practices to be more well recognized, but it also allows for consumers on the lower end of budget to still safely enjoy their homes.  Learn some tips and tricks straight from the code that can keep basic deck construction affordable.  Do you really need all that metal hardware and double-ply beams?  Do you have to fill the entire hole with concrete?  Building to the minimum allows more people the chance for a backyard deck and summer barbecues, and there is nothing shameful about that.

Length: 90 minutes.

Objectives: Upon completion of this course, attendees will…
…Learn what metal hardware is optional.
…Recognize the value of affordable construction and how it equates with safety.
…Discover how to utilize joist and beam cantilevers to maximize area and minimize material.

Continuing Education Units: Approved for 0.15 Preferred Provider CEUs from the International Code Council (ICC).

Thursday, March 26th
Pacific 8 am to 9:30 am
Mountain 9 am to 10:30 am
Central 10 am to 11:30 am
Eastern 11 am to 12:30 pm


ICC education provider

Common IRC Mistakes

Common Residential Code Mistakes


CLICK HERE FOR WEBINAR DETAILS

Description: There are long-standing code provisions that have been long misunderstood and there are new ones that don’t seem to be catching on.  This course picks out ten common mistakes and explains in detail why they are important not to miss.

Length: 90 minutes.

Objectives: Upon completion of this course, attendees will…
…Understand the differences between fire blocking, firestopping, and draft stopping.
…Be or reminded of the nuances of stairs, guards, and handrails.
…Learn the differences between a ridge board and a ridge beam.

Continuing Education Units: Approved for 0.15 Preferred Provider CEUs from the International Code Council (ICC).

Thursday, March 26th
Pacific 12:30 pm to 2 pm
Mountain 1:30 pm to 3 pm
Central 2:30 pm to 4 pm
Eastern 3:30 pm to 5 pm


ICC education provider